Ministry of the interior of the Czech Republic  


Modern Administration

Quick links: Sitemap Text version Česky Fulltext search


Main menu



Entering the Czech Republic, duties, length of stay

  1. Rules for the entry and residence of citizens from non-EU countries
  2. Bilateral agreements on visa-free relations


Bilateral agreements on visa-free relations

In accordance with the Schengen rules, citizens of third countries who are not subject to visa requirements can stay in the Schengen area without a visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. The length of individual stays in different Schengen States, including the Czech Republic, is accumulated. The date of entering the Schengen area is indicated on the entry stamp in the passport, similarly the passport is stamped upon leaving the Schengen area.

The option of a visa-free stay for a stay shorter than 90 days does not relate to foreign nationals who want to carry out a gainful activity.

For a stay in the Schengen area longer than 90 days, it is necessary to obtain a national long-term visa or residence permit issued by one of the Schengen states – in the opposite case the foreign national without a visa must leave the Schengen area by the end of the 90 days in any 180-day period.

The Schengen rules allow bilateral agreements signed by Schengen states before fully applying the Schengen acquis to retain their validity; in the case of the CR, it concerns agreements signed before 21 December 2007. Thus, even after 21 December 2007, the provisions of bilateral agreements on visa-free relations concerning the period of a visa-free stay in the Czech Republic still apply, though they don’t always contain the Schengen clause for a visa-free stay (i.e. 3 months during one 6–month period in the Schengen area) or the specification of accumulating the stay in the Czech Republic and other Schengen states.

It is, however, necessary to highlight that the rights ensuing from these bilateral agreements can only be invoked in the Czech Republic. For journeys outside of the Czech Republic, it is necessary to observe the general rule of a stay of 90 days in any 180-day period, which includes the stay in the Czech Republic. The length of the visa-free stay in the Czech Republic differs according to the contents of the agreements signed between individual state and these can be divided into the following groups:

  • Argentina
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Israel
  • Korea
  • Costa Rica
  • Malaysia
  • Uruguay

For a stay in the Schengen area, the rule of a visa-free stay for a maximum of 90 days in any 180-day period applies. Above the framework of this rule, citizens of these states can stay in the CR for another period of 3 months without a visa.

In practice, it means that, for instance, a citizen of the Korean Republic can travel in the Schengen area (including the CR) for a period of 90 days in any 180-day period. If the citizen of the Korean Republic stayed in the Schengen area for the entire period, he/she can move to the CR before the 3 months are up and then stay for a further 90 days in the CR without a visa. During these 90 days in the CR, he/she can no longer travel to other Schengen states without a visa. In the event of departing and returning to the CR during this period, it is necessary to take a direct flight.

3 months during 6 months in the Schengen

  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay

These agreements basically do not give citizens of the stated countries any advantage, as they include the definition, which restricts the visa-free stay to the period of 3 months within 6 months. This, however, is an original version of the calculation of the length of stay, which involves the principle of the date of first entry, and which was, what regards EU regulations, replaced with a new definition on 18 October 2013. When these bilateral agreements on visa-free stay are applied, however, the rules have to be followed that these agreements work with.

The original version of the rules governing calculation of the length of stay (i.e. 3 months within 6 months) is also applied in case of bilateral visa-free agreements signed between the EU and the following states: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, St Christopher and Nevis, Mauritius and Seychelles.


  • Singapore – it is possible to combine 90 days + 30 days in the CR

Note: In the abovementioned overview of bilateral visa-free agreements between the CR and third countries, we only mention agreements concerning passport holders. There is also information concerning a special visa-free regime for holders of other passport types (doc, 300 kB) (diplomatic, service, official, special, etc.) ensuing from the visa-free agreements between the CR and third countries.


Department for Asylum and Migration Policy, 6 June 2016

Print  E-mail