Ministry of the interior of the Czech Republic  


Modern Administration

Quick links: Sitemap Text version Česky Fulltext search


Main menu



Travelling in the EU / Schengen


Travelling in the EU / Schengen - Non-EU citizens

The Schengen area is a joint territory of countries that do not carry out border controls on people crossing their common borders. Closing the border posts is compensated for by enhanced cooperation and joint rules for protecting the external borders, police and judicial cooperation, protecting personal data, issuing visas and data sharing within the Schengen information system.

The Schengen area is made up of these countries:

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden and Switzerland.

Other EU or EEA Member States, i.e. Bulgaria, Ireland, CyprusRomania and Great Britain, are not members of the Schengen area.

IMPORTANT: Residence permits issued by Andorra, San Marino or Vatican do not allow their holders access to other Schengen states. Contrarily, residence permits issued by Monaco do.

After an expiration of validity visa for a stay of over 90 days (long-term) / residence permit it is necessary to leave the Schengen area. It does not apply for countries of Third-country citizens which are free from visa requerement for short-term residence. In that case they are allowed to start their short-term residence in Schengen area after an expiration of validity of their visa for a stay over 90 days (long-term)/ residence permit. They are allowed to stay 90 days (maximum) during every 180 days and then they have to leave the Schengen area.  

Department for Asylum and Migration Policy, June 30th, 2023

Print  E-mail