Ministry of the interior of the Czech Republic  


Modern Administration

Quick links: Sitemap Text version Česky Fulltext search


Main menu



Reintroducing of controls at the internal borders

On 12 March 2020, the Czech government decided to reintroduce controls at the internal borders of the Czech Republic in response to an imminent threat to public order and internal security caused by the spread of COVID-19.
  • The measure concerns the land borders with the Federal Republic of Germany and the Republic of Austria and the air borders, and takes place from 14 March 2020 0:00 to 18 March 2020 23:59 with the possibility of extension.
  • The internal borders with Austria and Germany can only be crossed at designated crossing points without any time limit. Persons, who demonstrably cross internal borders on a regular basis, in particular cross-border / commune workers, may also cross at other crossing points listed below from 5:00 to 23:00.
  • The above-mentioned obligation does not apply to selected categories of persons for whom the restriction on the crossing of internal borders would be disproportionate and in some cases would be contrary to the public interest. These include, for example, an integrated rescue system, people in the event of an unforeseen emergency, freight transport, etc.
The intensity and targeting of controls have been selected to minimize the flow of cross-border traffic.
The Ministry of the Interior asks travellers for understanding and helpfulness during an eventual inspection.

1) Places to cross EU internal borders

Road borders:
Dolní Dvořiště – Wullowitz
České Velenice – Gmünd
Hatě – Kleinhaugsdorf
Mikulov – Drasenhofen
Road borders:
Strážný - Phillippsreut
Pomezí nad Ohří - Schirnding
Rozvadov-dálnice - Waidhaus
Folmava – Furth im Wald/Schafberg
Železná Ruda – Bayerisch Eisenstein
Krásný Les - Breitenau
H. Sv. Šebestiána - Reitzenhain
Praha/Ruzyně (Vaclav Havel Airport)

2) Other places to cross internal borders

Only for persons who demonstrably regularly crossing internal borders, in particular cross-border / commuting workers and other persons, from 5:00 to 23:00.
Road borders:
Vratěnín – Oberurnau
Valtice – Schrattenberg
Nová Bystřice – Grametten
Hevlín – Laa an der Thaya
Road borders:
Všeruby – Eschlam
Jiříkov – Neugersdorf
Vojtanov –Schönberg
Cínovec - Altenberg

Print  E-mail